McDonald’s is good for you!

Fri 20 Jun, 2008 at 2:16 pm 18 comments

Personally, I hardly ever eat McDonalds. Yes, their fries are the best fast food fries out there, but having lived in BC – if I wanted a burger I’d eat at the White Spot. If I’m looking for fast food I go to Subway (Turkey & Ham).

However, recent news has discovered that Super Size Me isn’t all that accurate.

I noticed that when I first watched the documentary. Sure, Morgan Spurlock had to say yes every time he was offered the option to Super Size his meal, but realistically, most normal people don’t do that.

Taken from HealthZone.ca

Man sheds 80 pounds on McDonald’s diet

June 20, 2008

THE ASSOCIATED PRESS

QUINTON, Va. – A Virginia man lost about 80 pounds in six months by eating nearly every meal at McDonald’s.

Not Big Macs, french fries and chocolate shakes, but salads, wraps and apple dippers without the caramel sauce.

Chris Coleson tipped the scales at 278 pounds in December.

The 5-foot-8 Coleson now weighs 199 pounds and his waist size has dropped from 50 to 36.

The 42-year-old businessman from Quinton says he chose McDonald’s because it’s convenient.

His inspiration came from his two children and from the story of a blind war veteran who rode a tandem bicycle cross-country.

Coleson says his goal is to get back to the 185 pounds he weighed when he married Tricia Summer. Their 10th anniversary is Saturday.

What does this article say? Is McDonald’s really good for you? It depends on what you eat. That was the major error in Super Size me – i.e. McDonald’s isn’t going to kill you if you eat there – nor will you 100% lose weight if you eat there. It’s about personal responsibility. Subway (and other “healthier” fast foods can be just as bad as McDonald’s if you don’t watch your choice of food too!

How do you lose weight? Burn more calories than you take in. Simple as that. Eat healthy. Eat smaller portions. Eat small meals a several times a day rather than huge massive meals. Drink a tonne of water. And get your butt off the couch (the irony of me sitting on the couch while writing this doesn’t escape me).

Anyways – that’s my two cents. I’ll do another baby post later!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Lu-kea Weekly Weigh-in

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. timothycairns  |  Fri 20 Jun, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    far be it from me to disagree with my wife (and actually I don’t!) but the documentary supersize me did lead to McDonalds removing the supersized option from its stores and to putting in more healthy less calorific food.

    Its all about choice! Gordon Ramsey (and now Delia) did a series about how you can make low cal food that is delicious in just 15 minutes with ingredients you can buy in any convienience store! so we have no excuse!

    Reply
  • 2. Katie  |  Sat 21 Jun, 2008 at 2:39 am

    good post.

    Reply
  • 3. Johny  |  Fri 24 Jul, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    Just because you lose weight doesn’t mean its healthy it just means you burned more calories than you consumed. so your saying that if one person eats 500 calories of McDonald food and the other 500 calories of vegetables that they will have the same health? come on man not too smart.

    Reply
  • 4. jencairns  |  Sat 25 Jul, 2009 at 7:00 am

    Johny, this post was quite tongue-in-cheek when it was written last summer. You’ll notice that the person in the article wasn’t eating less of the greasy stuff (fries and burgers, etc), but was actually eating from their healthier options – salads, wraps, fruit, etc. So in fact, 500 calories of McDonald’s salads, wraps, fruit, etc, isn’t that different from 500 calories of vegetables.

    The post ends with a paragraph on how people can lose weight – McDonald’s or no McDonald’s. It’s about eating healthier, and burning more calories than you’re eating in a day. I’d say that is smart.

    Reply
  • 5. Reed G.  |  Tue 6 Apr, 2010 at 6:26 pm

    McDonalds = America = Awesome

    Reply
    • 6. cheyanne  |  Tue 31 May, 2011 at 12:19 pm

      yeppers its tha *hit lol

      Reply
  • 7. Liz  |  Mon 20 Dec, 2010 at 9:50 am

    im not so sure mcdonalds is the greatest… i watched super size me also and just how the people who worked there didnt care about how much they were puttung in the food. I just had mcdonalds the other day (rare i do) And i had a big mac and a regular fry and that was 920 calories!!! so it probably would be better to have the salads and things, bit if you eat mcdonalds because its convenient, you could take some time to prepare a homemade salad or something. overall, i wouldnt choose McDonalds

    Reply
    • 8. Brandon  |  Mon 30 Apr, 2012 at 10:19 am

      I know this post is a little old, but as an employee at McDonalds, it seems like we don’t care how much we are putting into the food because we don’t know. We are just instructed on how to prepare and make the food. This isn’t just true for McDonalds. Go to any fast food place and its the same exact way.

      Reply
  • 9. mark  |  Thu 24 Feb, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    this is a lie a really big one

    Reply
    • 10. cheyanne  |  Tue 31 May, 2011 at 12:16 pm

      have u tried it dont make assumtion if u never tried this diet

      Reply
  • 11. Jen  |  Sun 27 Feb, 2011 at 6:20 pm

    Mark – did you read the whole post? What part of: “How do you lose weight? Burn more calories than you take in. Simple as that. Eat healthy. Eat smaller portions. Eat small meals a several times a day rather than huge massive meals. Drink a tonne of water. And get your butt off the couch (the irony of me sitting on the couch while writing this doesn’t escape me).” is a lie?

    Reply
  • 12. cheyanne  |  Tue 31 May, 2011 at 12:17 pm

    wow tats great never thought of it tat way its a great help for me n my project1!!

    Reply
  • 13. tiffanycho  |  Thu 9 Jun, 2011 at 1:18 am

    I see your point but this post was kind of useless. What you are stating is, it’s not that Mcdonald’s is healthy or unhealthy, it’s your personal choices that determines your health. Your title is pretty misleading. I also agree that Super Size Me is inaccurate because of the experiment where they put foods into jars. I see that they were trying to make it as consistent as possible but Our stomachs have acids and enzymes to help us digest food whereas in the documentary, they just left the foods there.

    Reply
  • 14. Hondo  |  Mon 1 Aug, 2011 at 8:03 pm

    This add wasn’t useless…. I have worked at Mcd’s for a year and three months. I get free meals EVERYDAY I work. Big macs, Quarter Pounders, Double Quarters, Salads, Nuggets, the whole deal. I have tried everything! I weigh 150. I weighed 140 before I started. Like the post said It is what it is. Eat the calories you burn the calories. If you don’t they will stay right where you left them. I work out at least twice a weak. If I didn’t do this I am sure I would have gained some pounds. The people off super size me did nothing all day long week by month by year. Thats why they got fat and had to blame someone else.

    Reply
  • 15. Daniel Kalinichenko  |  Thu 13 Oct, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    Well of course you’re going to lose weight if all you eat is salads, wraps, and apple slices! But a good article, I would say. VERY believable. No really. I mean it. *sighs* too bad this won’t help me with my debate on McDonalds vs. Burger King.

    Reply
  • 16. Liz  |  Sat 7 Apr, 2012 at 10:22 am

    Fast food crack houses like MCDonalds and KFC use the words “Good” and “Fresh” over and over again with adverts filled music and emotions for what is total garbage- and if it is so good and fresh why do they spend millions and millions on advertising?

    Reply
  • 17. hgh  |  Tue 9 Apr, 2013 at 10:43 pm

    I guess this is a true majuscule article call.Thanks Again. Really Majuscule.

    Reply
  • 18. Grace  |  Fri 2 Jan, 2015 at 2:57 am

    You post interesting content here. Your page deserves much more visitors.
    It can go viral if you give it initial boost, i know useful tool that can help you,
    simply type in google: svetsern traffic tips

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Clustrmaps


