Labour Reading

Mon 18 Feb, 2008 at 4:06 pm 6 comments

Both myself and Jen love crime fiction. I understand that labour can last for at least 12 hours. That seems long enough to read a few books. So I have been trying to get my labour reading sorted. Over Christmas I read this book:

dead-simple.jpg

“Dead Simple” by Peter James is one of the best crime fiction books I have ever read! Not only is it outstandingly written, but the story is just gripping, I couldn’t put it down. The story is about a Police Detective Inspector called Roy Grace. The book works because the main detective is believable. You believe this guy could actually be a real detective working in Brighton. He is just an ordinary guy with a very sad past. If you want to be glued to your pool side chair over the summer get this book.

The next in the Roy Grace series is just as good!

looking-good-dead.jpg

Its called “Looking Good Dead” It is about a guy who opens a cd rom he finds on the train home and sets a whole set of problems in motion. I am off to the library to get the new Roy Grace tomorrow!

I also love Ben Elton’s books. I am saving this one for the delivery suite:

chart-throb.jpg

Ben Elton is a very funny writer indeed. He writes mystery books which are social comment. He writes about popular culture. Popcorn is about violent movies, Dead Famous is about murder during Big Brother the TV show and this one is a parody of Simon Cowell and reality TV. Looks good!

Does anyone have any other suggestions? I think you get the type of thing I am looking for – light reading! The complete works of Umberto Eco is not what I’m after! (That’s for the Alan Partridge fans)

Entry filed under: incidents, Random thoughts.

No news is no news … Another trip to the doctor!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ryan  |  Mon 18 Feb, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    I’m a fan of David Baldacci. It’s been a while since I have read him, but “Simple Truth” was excellent.

    Reply
  • 2. Dad  |  Tue 19 Feb, 2008 at 5:17 am

    Try the Charlie Muffin series by Brian Freemantle. Great read. There are about 12 or so books in the series.

    Reply
  • 3. claire  |  Tue 19 Feb, 2008 at 9:35 am

    I would heartily recommend any of the Jack Reacher series by Lee Child or any Harlan Coben.. all very easily readable crime fiction.. I managed 6 Harlan Cobens in one week in Lanzarote so you get the drift… good luck for the next few days! xx

    Reply
  • 4. Grace  |  Tue 19 Feb, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    Tim, if you think you’re going to get some light reading done while Jen’s in labour, you’ve got another thing coming to you. 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. timothycairns  |  Tue 19 Feb, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    oh Grace I might get a few chapters in! I hear with inductions – which it is looking like what we will have – it can be 48 hours!

    Claire – I like Harlan Coben! I only have the last Marlon Bolitar one to read – waiting on it at the library

    Reply
  • 6. jencairns  |  Tue 19 Feb, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    I doubt much reading will happen on my part – somehow I think I may be a bit distracted – but I got 7 books out of the library given there’s not going to be much of a social life for me any time soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Clustrmaps


