Superbowl

Tue 5 Feb, 2008 at 9:37 pm 3 comments

This is the first year in a longtime that I have followed the NFL season. It has been a long and varied viewing experience. From the men’s group in Vancouver, to the Washington Redskins in Winnipeg and watching the Minnesota v Chicago game in Minneapolis.

As a Dolphins fan it hasn’t been the best year to get back into American Football, but it has been fun none-the-less. I now think I actually have gotten a grasp of the game. Which brings me to the Superbowl on Sunday. I went to Toronto and watched the game at Jacob’s house. It was great fun! At halftime I got to really show my new NFL knowledge! We played a halftime game. When it was our turn to attack I was the one who called the plays! sadly we lost! But it was great fun.

As I was wanting New York to win it was an exciting and tense finish – helped by the 20 pounds of wings we had to eat! The cheer from all of us when New York scored that final touchdown was just a great moment! Then to find out I had actually played football (at half time) with Jen’s aunts (two of her aunts actually) husbands brother (if you are following me) – small world this Ontario!

So here’s to next year and the Dolphins to win!

Entry filed under: Ancedotes, incidents, Random thoughts.

Pregnancy Q & A – very funny! Why???

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. elliot  |  Wed 6 Feb, 2008 at 1:33 am

    How did you get to be a Dolphins fan? Just curious.

    Reply
  • 2. derekryanbrown  |  Wed 6 Feb, 2008 at 3:31 am

    Well done Tim! That was the best Super Bowl game that I can remember watching myself. The onlly downside was having to stay up until about 3:30am to catch it on tv…and on BBC for that matter.

    Good match the other day between Spurs and your boys!

    Reply
  • 3. timothycairns  |  Wed 6 Feb, 2008 at 10:50 am

    Elliot – in the mid to late 1980s the NFL started on channel 4. My brother became a big fan and so I tuned in as well. Anyway a live game between the colts and the dolphins was on and my brother told me he supported the colts, so I decided I would support the Dolphins (plus we had been on holiday in florida!). Thats the story!!!

    Derek – I needed top class sport on the weekend after Man Us capitulation on Saturday – maybe that middle east tour was a mistake! Our signal cut out with 2 minutes to go and it wasnt until Sunday that I realised we had actually scored!

    On the Superbowl (which is fairly well watched in the UK) was Greg Brady the commentator on the BBC or did they take the Fox feed?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Clustrmaps


