Driving Test…….14 years later (EDIT ITS ACTUALLY 17 YEARS!! SINCE MY TEST!)

Wed 30 Jan, 2008 at 4:33 pm 5 comments

So by some anomaly of law, you can exchange a UK licence for an Ontario licence, well……unless you come from Northern Ireland – who knows why – but that is the way of it. Anyway our insurance is due at the end of February so I ventured down to the licencing office in Guelph to see what I have to do.

 Well despite driving across country and driving for the last 14 years I have to sit two driving tests! The basic test and the advanced test. Even more indignity was having to do the written test (which I did at the driving centre today). I had to answer 40 questions and get 32 right. I got 38 out of 40 and I dispute one of the wrong answers – I think the Canadian Highway Code advice is wrong and my answer is correct – but we didn’t quibble! (well actually I did quibble it and the woman kind of laughed nervously) Anyway……..I passed! The exam reminded me of Iain Provan’s introduction to Old Testament (except the driving test makes more sense than that exam ever did – the most unfair testing procedure in the world – and then a bit of art work to finish the class – I digress).

So at 3.50pm EST (8.50 GMT) I will do my driving test some 14 years after the first time I did it! watch out motorists of Guelph!

 I will let you know how it goes

Entry filed under: incidents.

Nursery pics and belly shot – 37 weeks! Snow Storm!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mac  |  Wed 30 Jan, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    Having aced Provan’s final, I would strongly agree with your assessment of his exams. You’ve gotta wonder when a schlub like me passes what kinda suspicious formulations are driving that exam.

    Reply
  • 2. Katie  |  Thu 31 Jan, 2008 at 4:50 am

    Hilarious! Good luck. Now would the UK give me a license in place of my Canadian license?? 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. timothycairns  |  Thu 31 Jan, 2008 at 9:54 am

    Katie the problem is that my licence is a UK licence but is issued by DVLNI not DVLGB. The agreement between the UK and Canada has left Northern Ireland out – by accident or whatever! If you had moved to Northern Ireland you would have had to sit your test again! oh well – its an act of humility!

    Reply
  • 4. David  |  Thu 31 Jan, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    Keep death off the roads – drive on the pavements (sidewalks for north American audiences)!

    Reply
  • 5. timothycairns  |  Fri 1 Feb, 2008 at 9:49 am

    Katie – Actually you might be in the same boat as me – should you wish to drive – you have a BC licence and BC has no agreement with any part of the UK.

    Anyway looks like my test wont take place! there has been a little bit of snow – I will blog about it later – but lets once and for all put to bed this rubbish that Canada deals with snow well 10cms overnight and the entire country has shut down! pathetic!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Clustrmaps


