Ready for the Baby (almost!)

Wed 23 Jan, 2008 at 5:34 pm 2 comments

It’s true (almost!). This time last week, we had a couple outfits for the little guy and an Ergo Baby Carrier. Tim and I got a pack of newborn Pampers and Huggies (to try each) and a box of wipes. Also, for Christmas we were given a snow suit, books for the baby, a microwavable teddy bear (it’s got a bag to warm in the microwave), and Bunnykins dishes – all wonderful, but more was definitely needed!
And more was what we got. Tim and I went to Walmart on the way home from Niagara Falls on the weekend. We got a bunch of onesies, some sleepers, socks (that are too big for now), a diaper bag, wash clothes, and some really cute outfits. Unfortunately for babies, it really is a choice between blue and pink – I’m so happy we’re having a boy since I’m opposed to pink in principle (though it can be cute).
Then over the past two days my mum and I have done a lot more shopping. We got the super soft blanket at Bell’occhio (gift/baby store) with tags on it – apparently babies love it! Babies ‘R Us was the place we got a Diaper Genie II, a bathtub with a thing to sit the baby on, a big thing of diapers (we’re now sorted for 48 hours), soothers/pacifiers, fitted crib sheets, receiving blankets, newborn socks (that barely fit on my finger!), and other random stuff.
Today we got a crib and dresser set with the softest bedding set in the world. I’ll post pictures when everything’s set up (we still need to pick it up). Also today, I was over at Laura’s house and she’s lent me a bunch of stuff – a car seat, an Exersaucer, a Jolly Jumper, a bouncy baby seat (I don’t know what to call it but it’s a seat for a baby with things to play with/look at suspended overhead, a basket for the baby to sleep in, and a whole bunch of clothes.
It has been such a fun time getting ready for the baby. Once it’s set up then he can come. I’ll be 37 weeks on Sunday which means he’ll have reached the “full term” stage and could safely come at any point. We’ve just got a lot of laundry and setting up to do before, so hopefully he’ll wait until after the weekend. With my luck he’ll be out after I reach 40 weeks, but we’ll see. I have another doctor’s appointment tomorrow afternoon – so I’ll give another update then.

Entry filed under: baby stuff.

Thoughts on Ontario Doctor’s visit today!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Baby Girl  |  Wed 23 Jan, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    You’d be amazed at how many boy’s rooms that I’ve seen lately with hot pink and dusty rose in them! Once upon a time that would’ve been totally taboo, but now it seems that pretty much anything goes. I love to see what parent’s pick out, so post pics soon. I enjoy your blog!

    Jan from Unique Baby Gear, Nursery Themes and Modern Baby Decorating Tips and Ideas

    Reply
  • 2. Katie  |  Thu 24 Jan, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    Sounds like you had a blast shopping away and got all the goods. Excited to see pics and to hear how your doc appointment goes tomorrow.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Clustrmaps


