Thoughts on Ontario

Tue 22 Jan, 2008 at 6:39 pm 6 comments

So I’ve been in Ontario for just over a month. I thought it might be time to record my (initial) thoughts about the place. I will record my thoughts by means of  a list, I seem to be doing that a lot in my posts (very Nick Hornby). So here goes:

1. Everyone gauges how good their home/life/well-being by how close they live to a motorway. Average conversation goes like this “where do you live” (which of course I ask out of politeness as I have no idea where anything is). The person will reply with a town name like “Townsville” or something equally nondescript. I will then say “where is that?” they will reply “oh its about 15 minutes from the 401/427/40whatever (delete as appropriate)” Life is ruled by how close you live to the motorway. I can’t imagine people in Vancouver saying “oh yes its 20 minutes from highway 1” or “its 2 minutes from the 99”

2. Its cold. Its cold all the time. It snows more than 2 days a year. I was not shocked by this revelation – its just a fact!

3. Like every place in the world they have different supermarkets with different names. There is no safeway or IGA Market like Vancouver. I have no idea which are cheap and which are not.

4. Its very flat

5. You hear nothing about any other  sports teams other than the Leafs – On talk sports radio its just all about leafs. I now hate the Leafs more than I did.

6. People really do think it is the centre of the world – it is quite amusing!

7. You can see the CN Tower from Niagara on the Lake – not interesting I know – but I was amazed that you could so I include it.

8. There is nothing to do at Niagara falls in the winter – the boat stops – which surprised me

9. There are more Tim Hortons – which is just about the best thing about it!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Blog searches Ready for the Baby (almost!)

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sylvia Cairns  |  Wed 23 Jan, 2008 at 5:31 am

    Look forward to the Tim Hortons in March! Hope the snow has gone!!

    Reply
  • 2. Katie  |  Wed 23 Jan, 2008 at 6:04 am

    some good thoughts and observations…but you’ve gotta get away from the Timmy Hos! 😉

    Reply
  • 3. timothycairns  |  Wed 23 Jan, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    You can now get Tim Hortons in Britain!! its available in 24 hour garages – now you can get your double double fix in Edinburgh!
    enjoy Katie!

    Reply
  • 4. jencairns  |  Wed 23 Jan, 2008 at 5:20 pm

    The Tim Hortons is great! I love that a coffee is so close – even in Moffat (though of course it’s a 10 minute drive) just up the road near the 401!

    Reply
  • 5. Jean Houston  |  Mon 28 Jan, 2008 at 10:41 am

    Hey – what about in-laws!!!! 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. timothycairns  |  Mon 28 Jan, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    Do you really want my thoughts on them!!!!!!!!!!????????????

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Clustrmaps


