A Brief Baby Update

Thu 10 Jan, 2008 at 11:12 pm 3 comments

Nothing too exciting to report – but I did promise to post after my doctor’s appointment today. The baby’s heartbeat is sounding good and strong – always a nice thing to hear from a professional, even though we can listen to him on our home baby doppler. I do miss the friendliness of Dr. Applegarth – she was a wonderful doctor. Here I get “seen” by a nurse – after weighing myself and doing my own glucose/protein test – don’t ask! I then report to her, and she takes my blood pressure, measures the baby’s “height”, and checks his little heartbeat, and asks if he’s moving around much. Much?!?! Goodness – apart from today it’s felt like the little guy’s running a marathon or swimming around the world. Today I think he was a little more tired – especially now that he’s started to be noticeably active all night – fortunately he’s still small enough that he wakes me up, I must kick or something, and I fall back asleep. In the process, I wake Tim up, but fortunately he seems to fall back asleep just as quickly as me.

I’m now up another 2 pounds from 3 weeks ago – total gain of 15 pounds. And it seems to be all baby-related. Which is nice but not something I’ll take for granted in the future 🙂

I’m also in the process of navigating the twilight zone of having an OHIP number that won’t re-kick-in until March 1, 2008, and being covered by BC Care. A little complicated but all part of the frustrating Canadian health care system. At least doctor’s are all keen to have a pregnant patient – or at least non-complicated ones.

I’ll also be getting another ultrasound to check on junior’s size. He’s measuring consistent with the later due date. I think it’ll be best to assume we won’t be meeting our son until late February. It ups the chances of me being actually covered by OHIP when I go into labour (which would definitely be nice!). But we’ll see.

I think that’s all for the update. Hope you’re enjoying the New Year!

Entry filed under: baby stuff.

GOP ticket for 2008 revealed! A Surprising Trip to the Hospital

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. A brief baby update - A Brief Baby Update  |  Thu 10 Jan, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    […] home baby doppler. I do miss the friendliness of Dr. Applegarth – she was a wonderful doctor. … (more…) Baby – witch: This is a much shorter garments – style garment than … Baby – witch: This is a […]

    Reply
  • 2. Katie  |  Fri 11 Jan, 2008 at 5:24 am

    Thanks for the update. Glad that all is well.

    Reply
  • 3. Melissa  |  Sun 13 Jan, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    Great to hear he’s doing well!! (and that you are too!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Clustrmaps


