A bit of history

Wed 31 Oct, 2007 at 9:18 am 2 comments

Vancouver never ceases to amaze me. Last night I was driving home from a lecture and at the junction of 16th Ave and Arbutus I saw something I have only read about. This mythical vehicle is the stuff of legend, something I thought I would only see on the TV. To my amazement I saw a Sinclair C5.

p0000741.jpg

It was quite a moment. I looked, I looked back and looked again. Yes, right beside my car was a Sinclair C5. I rolled down the window and shouted out “Where did you get the Sinclair C5?” As often happens the in Vancouver the person did not understand what I was saying. I repeated the question, the lights started to change from red to green. I think the man said “In a shop” but I can’t be sure as he sped off (well kinda trundled off to be more accurate) and I had to move as well.

I kept looking back in the mirror at the marvel of engineering nothingness that makes up the C5. Why did these things never catch on? They were supposed to revolutionise how we got around. Although after seeing how slowly they actually go I can maybe see how they failed.

If you want to buy one you can here for about $2500 – a fairly good price I think for a piece of history.

It seems Sinclair is at it again. he has developed the “A-Bike” the worlds lightest and smallest folding bike. It folds up to the size and weight of an umbrella. This is one the Vancouverites might buy in to, with global warming and all that! At $300 it seems a steal. Maybe we will see Al Gore on one, then again probably not, that would mean practising what you preach!

Entry filed under: incidents, Random thoughts.

The big drive A Birthday Message

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Julia Stein  |  Thu 1 Nov, 2007 at 9:29 am

    That thing looks like the most uncomfortable and possibly terrifying way to get around.

    Reply
  • 2. Klaatu42  |  Sun 19 Jun, 2016 at 1:15 am

    And here I thought I was the only crazy Canadian to bring one of them into the country! Fun to ride, but yes, they have a fair number of drawbacks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Clustrmaps


