What a day … from Jen’s perspective …

Mon 10 Sep, 2007 at 3:34 pm 1 comment

When I woke up this morning, I knew I had a busy day ahead; well as busy as a day can be when you’re no longer in school, and working a mish-mash of odd jobs. Tim had to be up @ 6:30 (yuck!) for class, which meant I did too. I was hoping to be able to go back to sleep, but no luck. So I got up and got ready to go to the doctor for my regular check-up.

Dr. Applegarth called me in, weighed me (no change, probably not so good), took my blood pressure (no change, but very good), and then used the baby doppler thing to look for the baby and it’s heartbeat. It was loud and clear over the weekend (yes, as 21st century expectant parents, we bought a baby doppler over the weekend – craigslist of course), but I digress. The doctor couldn’t find it. I started to get worried. She took care of a phone call and told me to walk around and try to get the little one moving around (in case it was hiding). She came back in and looked for it again. No luck. Of all the days for me to schedule an appointment when Tim was not only not there, but also in class for another 3 hours. I had an ultrasound scheduled for tomorrow, but she wanted to get me in today, and told me to wait in the waiting room. The nurse called me over 5 minutes later and told me I had an appointment at 10am @ St Paul’s … it was 9:20am.

I raced home and immediately called Regent to track down Tim (thank you Shelley!) and my mum. My mum called Penny (my aunt) to ask her to pick me up and take me to the hospital. Crying and driving is not a terribly helpful combination – especially in downtown Vancouver. Between Penny and Paul Lam (Tim’s ride), we arrived at the same time and went up to the Ultrasound place.

After checking in, we sat there waiting for what seemed like forever, all of us worried, and me trying to drink as much water as possible (for normal ultrasounds you’re supposed to drink 64 ounces of water 2 hours prior to the ultrasound; needless to say, there wasn’t exactly time).

The doctor called us in to the dimly lit room and had me lie down. She put the goop on me, and as soon as she put the ultrasound wand on my stomach, she said the baby was okay! 🙂 We were so relieved!

The doctor then did the regular scan, and we found out that the baby’s not as big as it should be, but that we’ve most likely miscalculated when we’re due – it would appear we’re in the potential running for a Leap Year baby!

We’ll probably have to have another ultrasound, and we’ll get photos of it then – we were too relieved to worry about that this time.

It was a stressful morning, but by all accounts, we’ll be having a healthy, happy baby in another 5 months. And the baby seems to take after it’s Dad. Tim can say what he wants about what I’m full of (see his post), but our little one seems to like to sleep even more than Tim! Ultrasounds don’t normally last 45 minutes, but ours did since junior was sound asleep upside down. It only moved to try to push away the wand when it got near him/her interrupting it’s sleep.

Well I could go on forever, but the gist of this post is that the baby is okay!

Entry filed under: baby stuff.

What a day……… September 11th

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. melissa  |  Tue 11 Sep, 2007 at 1:48 pm

    phew what a day! i got stressed out just reading but so happy for the happy ending!! Glad all is well and looking forward to seeing the ultrasound photo after the next ultrasound appt! and now matter what Tim says… you’re not full of…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Clustrmaps


