Becoming Canadian

Tue 28 Aug, 2007 at 4:59 pm 3 comments

Has anyone ever tried to get permanent residency in Canada? It is a fulltime job – getting medicals, photos (and no ordinary passport snap will do, oh no, not for immigration. They have their own “special” type of photo an “immigration photo” no less), police checks, finger prints and endless form filling. The questions are endless – When did you meet? What were the words or gist there of that you used when you first met to indicate that you wanted to meet again? How many people went to your wedding? what was the cake like? (Ok some of those questions are not on the form, but it feels like they should be!)Becoming a “perm res” is hard work – maybe they just want to keep me out? (Of the country that is rather than any other use of the word out. I only clarify as I am in Canada and that sort of thing can mean other things you see, anyway….)

So back to the form filling and government red tape – I think they should just rubber stamp my application, I already know all the words to “O Canada” so I already know all the cultural songs of the Canadian nation! Go on Stephen let me – you know I’ll vote Conservative!

Entry filed under: Random thoughts.

The BBC…. Tim Horton’s

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. melissa  |  Thu 30 Aug, 2007 at 5:39 am

    Tim once i start my process with the states i’m sure we’ll have much to commiserate about! Though i think Mac said that the process for Canada is worse than the States… go figure, we let anyone in across the boarder, but we’re picky about the official stuff?? very strange.

    Reply
  • 2. Mike  |  Fri 7 Sep, 2007 at 3:20 pm

    We did it — took 29 months from starting the applications (Jan. 2005) to actually crossing the border with full permanent residency in hand (May 19, 2007). We really wouldn’t want to be anywhere else, right now.

    I found your blog because I was thinking about how “becoming Canadian” is sort of growing on us. We had an incident today in which a woman “keyed” our car — in a Sechelt, BC, parking lot! She was a little nutsy, of course, but the reactions and assistance of everyone from ICBC to the car painting place to RCMP were so different from what would have happened in California, I think.

    Don’t you find that to be true?

    Reply
  • 3. timothycairns  |  Fri 7 Sep, 2007 at 4:09 pm

    Hey Mike,

    Welcome to the blog! sorry about the car – look I am becoming Canadian myself – I feel the need to apologise!

    seriously thanks for looking in and Yes Canada is a great place to be and I do not want to be anywhere else right now

    Oh and Tim Hortons is great!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Clustrmaps


